Standing Committee Chair recommendations go to Council on the 14th

By Staff

December 5th, 2021



Council is expected to recommend the standing committee Chair and Vice-Chair appointments for 2022, and the appointments to the Licensing Committee, as follows:

Councillor Galbraith will back up Lisa Kearns as Chair of the Budget Committee. It will be a quieter year for this Committee

EICS: Environment, Infrastructure & Community Services Committee
Chair: Councillor Kelvin Galbraith Vice Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte

CPRM: Community Planning, Regulation & Mobility Committee
Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte Vice Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan

CSSRA: Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk and Accountability Committee
Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan
Vice Chair: Councillor Paul Sharman

Councillor Angelo Bentivegna remains chair of workshops.

Council Workshop
Chair: Councillor Angelo Bentivegna (remains the same) Vice-Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns

Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns (Moves from Vice Chair to Chair) Vice-Chair: Kelvin Galbraith

License and Appeals Committee

Chair: Paul Sharman
Council Representatives (2 required):
Councillor Kelvin Galbraith Councillor Lisa Kearns

Each year, the mayor recommends for council approval appointments of Chair and Vice Chair for standing committees.

There are two notable changes from 2021. There is no longer a separate chair for Community Planning Regulation and Mobility Statutory Public Meeting. These meetings will be chaired by the Chair of the regular CPRM. There is a new License and Appeals Committee and the clerk has requested a chair and two members of council to be appointed to serve.

In making my recommendations to Council said Mayor Meed Ward the guiding principles include attempting to accommodate specific requests where received, providing accommodations for specific personal circumstances as needed, providing opportunity to serve on different committees, and offering fairness, balance and equity of opportunity for each member to serve as chair of one of the three standing committees within a two-year period.

Normal practice to achieve this equity is for the Vice Chair to move into the Chair position the following year. There are six committees, so all members of council will have an opportunity to serve as Chair of a committee and Vice Chair of a committee in 2022. Audit committee selects their own Chair and Vice Chair by a vote of the membership.

As 2022 is an election year, the term of Chair/Vice Chair will end with the council term. A new slate of Chairs/Vice Chairs for the balance of 2022 and 2023 will be chosen in November once the new council takes office.

Return to the Front page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.