Barrie Baycats earn their third IBL championship - defeat Toronto Male Leafs in four straight.

sportsgreen 100x100By Staff

September 4, 2016


The Toronto Maple Leafs just couldn’t get any traction – the team has shown great gusto in the quarter and semi-finals but when it came to the IBL Championship games – the Barrie Baycats didn’t give them any room.

The Barrie Baycats swept the Toronto Maple Leafs to win their third straight Intercounty Baseball League championship.
Barrie won 7-5 Sunday afternoon at Christie Pits and went 12-1 in the playoffs, beating Burlington in five games in the first round and then sweeping the second-place Kitchener Panthers in the semifinal on their way to another Dominico Trophy.

Jordan Castaldo had two home runs and three RBI in Game 4. The Baycats infielder homered four times and drove in 12 in the final.
Kyle Nichols added a solo home run, while Kyle DeGrace singled and had two RBI, Ryan Spataro drove in a run, and Glenn Jackson singled twice and scored twice.

Emilis Guerrero (4-1) went the distance, allowing five runs (four earned) on 16 hits with four strikeouts and no walks.
Connor Lewis singled twice, homered and had two RBI for the fifth-place Leafs, who advanced to the final after beating Brantford and London in seven-game series.

Dan Marra had three singled and an RBI, Sean Mattson went 3-for-5 with a run, Jonathan Solazzo singled twice and scored twice, Justin Marra had two hits and scored once, and Grant Tamane added a pair of singles.

Mike Wagner (4-1) took the loss, giving up three runs on four hits in three innings of relief. Wagner struck out three without issuing a walk. Starter Brett van Pelt lasted six innings and allowed four runs (three earned) on five hits, striking out three and walking one.

Return to the Front page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.