'I will truly, faithfully and impartially exercise this office to the best of my knowledge and ability.'

News 100 blueBy Pepper Parr

December 2nd, 2018



The Declaration of Office is always signed by elected members of a city council when they begin their term.
It’s an important document and means a lot to those who sign them.

The document comes from Section 232 of the Municipal Act, 2001.

It is part of the process – but it will carry more weight, more importance Monday evening when a Superior Court Judge puts the document in front of the members of Council who are being sworn in.

I do solemnly promise and declare that:

1. I will truly, faithfully and impartially exercise this office to the best of my knowledge and ability.

2. I have not received and will not receive any payment or reward, or promise thereof, for the exercise of this office in a biased, corrupt or in any other improper manner.

3. I will disclose any pecuniary interest, direct or indirect, in accordance with the
Municipal Conflict of Interest Act.

4. I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second (or the reigning sovereign for the time being).

And I make this solemn promise and declaration conscientiously believing it to be true and
knowing that it is of the same force and effect as if made under oath.

There is a lot resting on these seven people. The Mayor Elect and ward 5 Councillor Paul Sharman have been down this path before, for the other five: Kelvin Galbraith, Lisa Kearns Rory Nisan Shawna Stolte and Angelo Bentivegna, it is a job that is bigger than anything they have done so far in their lives.

The council was elected to bring about changes in the way the city grows; where it grows and how some controls can be put on that growth so that Burlington doesn’t lose the character that brought people to the city and is xx by those who speak of their love for the place.

The Mayor Elect has made it clear that she wants to see a kinder, more collaborative city council where the respect between the members is radically different than it was for the last eight years.

She is also adamant that city council will treat citizens with more respect and that they listen to delegations and ensure that delegations know they were heard.

That is the significance of the document that the seven members of city council will sign Monday event.

Keep that in mind and hold their feet to the flames ensuring that they do the job you elected them to do.



Former two term Councillor Marianne Meed Ward becomes the Mayor for the 2018-2020 term of office.


Kelvin G

Councilor for Ward 1 – replaces Rick Craven who retired.


Lisa K

Lisa Kearns replaces Meed Ward who becomes Mayor


Rory N

Rory Nisan replaces John Taylor who retired.


Shawna S

Shawna Stolte defeated Councillor Jack Dennison for the ward 4 seat.



Paul Sharman was re-elected in ward 5 for a third term


Angelo B

Councillor for ward 6 – Tony Bentivegna- who knew? He defeated Councillor Lancaster for the council seat.





Return to the Front page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.