Twelve of the best of us have been named: several of them will be fully recognized in May.

By Staff

BURLINGTON, ON March 29, 2013   The nominations for Burlington’s Best awards are in, and in just six weeks the winners will be revealed at a gala event – Thursday, May 9, 2013 at 6:30 p.m. at the Burlington Convention Centre,

The 2013 gala event is proud to welcome local blogger and unabashed promoter of Burlington, Trent Schwartz, as the keynote speaker.

Keith Strong, chairman of the nominating committee is pleased with the buzz building around Burlington’s Best awards,.

“With an impressive group of nominees, the new look of the awards and an exciting ceremony coming, we think this year’s awards will help raise awareness of the importance of volunteering in the community. These nominees all help make Burlington a better place for all of us.”

Awards will be given for the following seven categories:

Citizen of the Year      

Junior Citizen of the Year     

Arts Person of the Year

Seniors Person of the Year     

Community Service Award     

Environmental Award   

Heritage Award, this is a new category for Burlington.


This year’s nominees are:

Susan Busby, Mary Dilly, Joey Edwardh, Ancilla Ho-Young, Jane Irwin, Bev Jacobs, Ross Kay, Morgan Muscat, Robert Narejko, Noah Parker, Amy Schnurr, Joe Veitch

All award winners will be announced at the event.

Civic Award winners last year; from the left: Michelle Bennett, Sam Kawazoye, Trevor Copp, Mayor Goldring (he won the election) Wendy Hager, Dan Taylor and Jim Frizzle

The Planning Committee is composed of 10 voting members, including: 6 citizens from the community, and 4 representatives from media and information agencies.

Tickets to this event are $35 per person; a table of the 10 sells for $280. The event includes a light buffet and cocktail reception. Tickets are available from the clerks department at City Hall, 426 Brant St. or by contacting Roxanne Gosse at 905-335-7600, ext. 7855 or

Return to the Front page
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments are closed.